Writer Mom

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 13:

Today’s question, and my response:

5/13/12:

It’s Mother’s Day, so tell us a story about your mom. Connect it to your writing, if there is a connection. Otherwise, you can tell us the qualities you appreciated about your mom.

I was surprised, when towards the end of her life, Mom told me she also had writing aspirations at my age. Mom a writer? And then I began to think. About the bedtime stories she wove for me, how she helped me with my high school essays by suggesting just the right turn of phrase, how she could always mesmerize whoever she happened to be talking to with her stories of everyday events, the job she took after she retired as a teacher, doing editing and freelance writing of math books, the two math books we co-authored together, the little books she wrote for my children when they were young, the stories she wove for them… Mom a writer? Of course!

 

Leave a Reply

