Writing it Real

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 15:

Today’s question, and my response:

We have been talking about admirable qualities. So let’s keep going! Name a writer you admire and list his or her admirable qualities…on the page. What about this person’s writing makes him or her a total original?

I discovered Beverly Cleary as a child, and have always enjoyed her writing. After learning to read with Dick, Jane, and Sally, and later reading through the Bobbsey twin and Five Little Pepper series, it was kind of refreshing to encounter characters that I could actually empathize with, since they were never unrealistically well-behaved. Beezus. Ramona, and Henry Huggins seemed just like any normal kids I knew in real life, and I loved following their adventures as they got themselves into and out of scrapes. Writers like Cleary, Crockett Johnson, Maurice Sendak, Dr. Seuss, Mary Calhoun, Lois Lensky, H.A. Rey, and others, seemed to have a good handle on not only what kids were like, but also on what they liked to read.

 

4 thoughts on “Writing it Real

  1. Great list, Cara! I can tell we are clooooooooooose to the same age, although I know you’re younger. I would add Frances Hodgson Burnett (A Little Princess) and Shel Silverstein, Ogden Nash, and Jack Prelutsky (to name a few). (HAD to add the poets in there!).

    • I loved A Little Princess, and also The Secret Garden. One day I will have to make a list of ALL the favorite books I remember from my childhood!

      I had to keep the post under 200 words, otherwise I would have gone for poets too. 😉 I would agree with all the poets you listed, plus add Rachel Fields, Robert Louis Stevenson, Robert Frost, and John Ciardi, for starters…

Leave a Reply

