Right to Write

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 18:

Today’s question, and my response:

Carolina Slade has spunk, and she’s not afraid to use it. How will you have spunk in upholding and protecting your desire to write?

Writing is part of my daily life. I decided that 5 years ago, when with great trepidation, I walked into a writing group with nothing but the desire to write, and a blank spiral notebook. Like anything worthwhile in life, it takes time, determination, a strong sense of commitment, and excellent time management skills to balance writing with my other obligations. These include my family, volunteer commitments, a part-time job, and of course the everyday chores and responsibilities in life. I have to plan carefully to carve out the time to write (including index cards and a pen stuffed in my back pocket whenever I take the dog for a walk), but nobody is going to take my writing time away from me. Grrr!

3 thoughts on “Right to Write

  1. Thank-you for passing this along. I really enjoyed and related to this article. Three years ago i resolved to write every day. It really does take commitment, but I also began by joining a Writer’s Group. This May my very first published work appears in Fellowscript magazine. An article entitled, Why Join a Writer’s Group.:) While poetry is my first love I simply love to write. these prompts sound like fun. Here is the link to the article in Fellowscript. http://www.inscribe.org/fellowscript/feature-article-online/

    • Congratulations on your first published article, Janet! It was well written, and I think you did a great job pointing out the merits of joining a writing group. Everyone initially has self-doubts when writing, so it is essential to have a support group, whether it be other writers, or your friends and family. I know I often felt discouraged at first, and still do sometimes, but it’s the wonderfully supportive online writing communities I belong to, that keep me going when I’m in a slump. I hope you decide to participate in some of Christina Katz’s drawings– they are fun!

      • I hope to find time…and you are so right! the on-line community of writers has helped me keep on keeping in ‘low’ times!
        Best to you.

Leave a Reply

