Mission Accomplished

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 20:

Today’s question, and my response:

When is the last time you came up with a creative idea that created more success for your writing career? And if you haven’t come up with one yet, come up with one now and share it with us. You don’t have to have a book deal to always be coming up with fresh ideas for promoting yourself. I’ve been doing it from the get-go, and it’s not only refreshing for my readers; it energizes me, too.

When I first started submitting personal essays and poetry back in 2008, complete silence or a form rejection letter was the most common response I encountered. It seemed like you needed to be published to get published, the classic catch-22. So I developed a two-pronged approach to change all that. I studied the craft of writing, reading extensively in my genre, and taking workshops and classes. That was all well and good, and increased my acceptance rate, but I still lacked name recognition. So to rectify that, I started blogging, actively Facebooking and Twittering, leaving comments on blogs I enjoyed, and becoming part of a number of online writing communities. Mission accomplished! I am now getting published regularly in anthologies and poetry journals, and have amassed a wonderfully supportive and creative set of writer and poet friends from all around the globe.

Leave a Reply

