knowing her only

I’m back to writing haiku for NaHaiWriMo again, after a much needed break. I’m not sure whether I will be writing and posting daily, or writing daily, but not posting, or posting and writing sporatically, or… The point is that I’m not going to put any pressure on myself to produce this time around– I’ll just write for fun when I can. With the end-of-school year activities already beginning, I can see that the next month will go by in the blink of an eye.

Today’s prompt was a somber one– to write an in memoriam haiku for Hortensia Anderson, a talented and much loved haiku poet who passed away on Monday after a battle with cancer and other health issues. I never met Hortensia in person, but I felt like I knew her, through our Facebook friendship, and through reading her lovely haiku, haibun and tanka in various journals.

knowing her only
through her words…
morning birdsong

Here are two favorites of mine that she wrote: a haiku that appeared last year in The Heron’s Nest, and a very recent haibun in Contemporary Haibun Online.

2 thoughts on “knowing her only

Leave a Reply

