To Print or Not to Print

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 23:

Today’s question, and my response:

Have you thought about self-publishing? Will you? Why or why not? If yes, what do you think you will self-publish first? If you’ve already self-published, will you do it again? Why or why not? Tell us what you have learned about self-publishing.

When I first started writing, I think I had a bit of an obsession with not just getting published, but getting published in paper and ink books. I’m over that now. I guess I felt that if something was in print, it was therefore more “permanent”, and also, that more people would read it. To be quite honest, I have no idea what the sales figures are for any of the print anthologies and journals my work has appeared in. And even less of an idea whether owners of said media actually read my essays or poetry.

As a consequence, I am far more open to employing a variety of approaches for disseminating my writings, including blogging them on my own blog, doing guest posts for others’ blogs, submitting to online journals, and using other social media. I am totally open to both self-publishing, or traditional publishing, if I should get so lucky, but not until I feel I have amassed enough of a polished collection of work (personal essays, haiku, and haibun in particular), to make sense to try to publish. I’m getting there!

 

2 thoughts on “To Print or Not to Print

Leave a Reply

