Just Different

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 24:

Today’s question, and my response:

Kristina brings up a very interesting word: normal. Does being a writer ever make you feel like you are not “normal”? Do you think other people are “normal”? How about other writers? Is “normal” a word that is typically used to describe writer mamas or is there something “abnormal” about us?

This is something that I think about a lot. Does that already make me not “normal”? I prefer to think of myself as “different”. I read a lot. I think a lot. I daydream a lot. I like to write a lot, and even when I’m not writing on a piece of paper or using my keyboard, I’m composing in my head. Last month, I interviewed 34 poets for my blog, and guess what? I discovered that pretty much all of them discovered their calling early on in life. So I think a writer is born that way, with fine-tuned sensibilities to both the natural world and human nature. If that makes us writers different from most other folks, then I like being different!

2 thoughts on “Just Different

Leave a Reply

