morning solitude

Today’s NaHaiWriMo prompt was to write a haiku from a different perspective. Yesterday I was walking on the indoor track at the gym. I’m not the fastest walker anyway, but I’m especially not fast when I am thinking about writing haiku, as I was on this occasion. So I had to keep stopping and jotting notes on my index cards. I saw a lot of retreating backs, and a number of people even regularly lapped me, but hey, I came out of it with 2 miles of walking completed AND an index card full of haiku and haibun starters, and I’m pretty sure they didn’t.

morning solitude
the retreating backs
of other walkers

2 thoughts on “morning solitude

Leave a Reply

