Facing my Fears

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 28:

Today’s question, and my response:

In a recent interview about her new book with Emily Griffin, Allison Winn Scotch says that she is “deathly afraid of plane crashes.”

What are you deathly afraid of and could you write about it?

Have you ever tried? Why or why not?

After thinking it over and writing this comment, what do you think? Do you dare write about it?

For 3-1/2 years, I was in a writing group for cancer survivors. There wasn’t much we didn’t tackle. On one particularly memorable occasion, we were asked to make a list of things we were afraid of. That was the easy part. Death, physical pain, and loss of a loved one were right there at the top of my list. Then we had to pick our greatest fear and write about it. That was intense. I silently promised myself I would never come back to writing group, but the next week, there I was, ready to write again.

I write about all sorts of things these days. Some pieces are light and fun. Some are a bit worrying and uncomfortable. And some take me places I’d rather not explore. But it is the latter kind of writing that is perhaps the most necessary—if I learned anything from my cancer saga, and I think I did, it is that ignoring issues and problems don’t make them go away; in fact, quite the contrary is true. It’s only by working through fears that you can move past them. And writing about them is the best way I know to do this.

 

2 thoughts on “Facing my Fears

  1. I must admit I avoid writing about my fears. The one exception that I can remember is an essay about being jumped from behind in a NYC subway station and the fears that haunted me afterwords. In general though, writing about fear is something I’m uncomfortable with … I fear. 🙂

  2. Hi Cara, Blessings for your health and writing. I had endometriosis, which changed my life a lot. Now I say it was my best teacher. Right now, I’m rereading Julia Cameron, who says so much about health and creativity. Ellen

Leave a Reply

