Seabeck 2012 Recap

Attending the Seabeck retreat from October 11-14 of this year was an exhilarating experience on many counts. I rekindled friendships made at last year’s haiku retreat, online, and at other haiku conference. I made many new friends. I made a presentation on “Online Haiku Resources”, which was well received, and I will follow up on it by posting to my blog an expanded list of online resources. I facilitated a thought-provoking panel on “Poetic Truth: Will the Real Haiku Please Stand Up?” with panel members Michael Dylan Welch, Angela Terry, and Tanya McDonald. Carmen Sterba was unfortunately unable to join us at the last minute, but I read her prepared position statement on the topic. This generated much audience response, and the haiku and position statements from this will be posted at a later time.Under the able direction of Fumiko Kimura and Frank Kawasaki, I learned some basics of sumi painting, and created (with much help from Frank!) three  sumi-e haiga that I am very proud of. I enjoyed the scavenger hunt, the talent show, conversations over meals, great panels and presentations, and the wonderful new lodgings. I was delighted to receive an Honorable Mention in the Porad contest, and to tie for third place in the kukai. All in all, a wonderful weekend! This year’s group photo can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

