lingering cold

It’s always fun to take part in the Shiki Annual Poets’ Choice Kukai. For the 3rd year in a row, I’ve had a haiku in the contending. It had very special meaning to me this time around that my haiku tied for 3rd place in the kigo category, as I was visiting California and staying just miles from where my parents are buried when the results came out. It is always bittersweet to visit California, but on the balance, I’d say I’ve had more good times than bad ones over the years I spent either living or just visiting there.

lingering cold
the long ride home
from the cemetery

 The full set of results can be read here.

2 thoughts on “lingering cold

Leave a Reply

