so near

2012 November PAD Chapbook Challenge- Day 2

I love writing about the full moon– what haiku poet doesn’t? I almost used the haiku I wrote a few days ago for the Haiku Bandit Society October moon viewing party, but decided that would be cheating. For this challenge, only fresh work, and the kigo has to come from The Haiku Handbook, by William J. Higginson and Penny Harter. Those are the rules I set for myself, so I think it only fair I follow them!

Today’s prompt was “full moon”, and the guest prompter was Khara House:

so near
and yet so far
hazy moon

“Hazy moon” is a spring kigo, by the way. More poetic responses can be read on the Poetic Asides blog.

2 thoughts on “so near

Leave a Reply

