cold moon

2012 November PAD Chapbook Challenge- Day 4

I had to be a little creative with the prompt today. The prompt was to make the title: “Just Beneath [blank]”, and then fill in the blank and write the poem. But of course, haiku not having titles, this was not possible. My next thought was to make this the first line, but then I lost the short-long-short rhythm of the haiku, and every attempt I made sounded too contrived. So I finally settled on using the phrase “just beneath” anywhere in my haiku, and came up with this: (The guest prompter today was Marie Elena Good.)

 

cold moon
just beneath the crust of snow
more snow

“Cold moon” is a winter  kigo. More poetic responses can be read on the Poetic Asides blog.

Leave a Reply

