the wide sea

2012 November PAD Chapbook Challenge- Day 25

I guess I’m getting quite a late start today. Guest prompter Cameron Mathews asked us to write an “opposite poem” of one of our earlier poetic attempts in this month. I decided to revisit Day 18, where I wrote a modified glosa/ epigram poem. Of course, I had to change all the rules of the form for this attempt.

I again started with the Shiki haiku on page 24 of The Haiku Handbook, by William J. Higginson and Penny Harter. This time, I used the lines from Shiki’s haiku in opposite order, and made them the first lines of my haiku (rather than the last lines). It’s easier to write the new haiku sequence than explain it!

rowing through
out of the mist
the wide sea

— Shiki

My Day 18 poem:

only the sound
of oars in water
rowing through

so far away
mountains rise
out of the mist

alone
with my thoughts
the wide sea

And today’s “opposite” poem:

the wide sea
thinking of you
so far away

out of the mist
white sails
or maybe a seagull

rowing through…
waves lap the shore
at my feet

More poetic responses can be read on the Poetic Asides blog.

Leave a Reply

