kindling the flame

December Haiku Share

Driving through the neighborhood last night and seeing all the holiday lights reminded me of this haiku I wrote two years ago to the prompt “festival lights” for the Caribbean Kigo Kukai:

kindling the flame-
one candle
lights another

Caribbean Kigo Kukai, October 2010

 

You can also write about winter holidays, candles, or flames. If you missed the initial post, click here to read about the month long haiku challenge I am holding right here on my blog this December.

38 thoughts on “kindling the flame

  1. one to grow on
    in the center of the cake . . .
    an extra candle
    to light my path forward
    to lead me home again

    red lights, vol.8, no.1, January 2012

    (first line is ital.)

    Thank you for doing this, Cara. So much fun. Love your haiku!

    • Beautiful, Margaret. I’m loving reading all these poems I haven’t read before.

      One of the beauties of blogs is that we can share what we’ve had published in print mags, and Cara is making that extra easy during this season of giving. Thank you, Cara! 🙂

      • I just realized that myself, Kirsten. One of the many perks of this is that I can read haiku that appeared only in print journals I’m not subscribed to. My wish list keeps growing!

      • Thank you, Kirsten . . . I agree; it’s great fun to get to see work you’ve not seen before–or, as in the case of your lovely haiku, to re-read it again. Thanks again, Cara. What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

