hawks

December Haiku Share

Red-tailed hawks are a common sight around these parts, although I actually wrote this haiku when I was visiting Arizona two summers ago. This haiku combines two of my favorite subjects: hawks and clouds. It is also a hay(na)ku– a poetry form having three lines, consisting of one, two, and three words respectively. So share a haiku about hawks, other raptors, air currents, clouds, and/or try your hand at a hay(na)ku.

hawks
 catching thermals
slow moving clouds

1st place, WD Poetic Form Challenge: Hay(na)ku, Aug. 2011
Writer’s Digest, January 2012

 

If you missed the initial post, click here to read about the month long haiku challenge I am holding right here on my blog this December.

33 thoughts on “hawks

  1. I just “stumbled” onto this! what fun!! I’m looking forward to going back and catching up on what I’ve missed. this is a wonderful idea, cara! here’s my contribution for today — if an owl can be considered a raptor. 🙂

    cold moon
    even the owl
    has flown

      • Haha, Seánan. That’s so true– I doubt mice would quibble over the semantics of the word “raptor”, particularly when one was descending straight towards them.

    • I’m so glad you’re joining us, Angie! 🙂

      Interestingly, I just googled “are owls raptors” and it turns out there is a difference of opinions amongst biologists about whether they are or not. Some say no, because they’re not diurnal. So I will expand my prompt to include all “birds of prey”: hawks, owls, falcons, eagles, kites, harriers, buzzards, and vultures. And here I thought “raptor” and “birds of prey” were synonymous. You learn something new every day!

Leave a Reply

