lingering awhile

December Haiku Share

And yet another haiku I wrote as part of a rengay, this one with Kirsten Cliff. As I currently live in “the City of Roses”, I would be totally remiss if I didn’t include at least one haiku that mentions roses, even though blooming roses right now are but a distant memory. Share a haiku/tanka/haiga about roses, any kind of flower, or  a pleasant scent.

lingering awhile
under the awning
the scent of roses

From “Between the Birdsong” (with Kirsten Cliff)
LYNX 27:3, October 2012

If you missed the initial post, click here to read about the month long haiku challenge I am holding right here on my blog this December.

49 thoughts on “lingering awhile

  1. the intense white
    of chrysanthemums
    while making love
    i become
    a thousand petals

    Pamela A. Babusci
    Ribbons Vol. 5:3 Fall 2009

  2. So many good haiku here! Thanks for the great read again today folks. 🙂

    one side of the rose
    has no petals:
    hoping he’ll return,
    I keep to my half
    of the bed

    Kokako 13, September 2010

    Funnily enough, Cara, I was wondering just yesterday when one of your rose ‘ku would make an appearance. 🙂 Just for fun, I’ll also post the haiku that came after yours above in the rengay; a different kind of scent entirely . . .

    dairy herd
    the bull lies in shade
    under a willow

    ~from ‘Between the Birdsong” (with Cara Holman) LYNX 27:3, October 2012

  3. So many wonderful haiku and tanka here!! Another great project, Cara! And I hope it’s not too late to hop on…

    winter roses–
    the longing begins
    at moonrise

    Alegria Imperial
    LYNX February 2012

Leave a Reply

