barefoot summer

December Haiku Share

This has got to be my most workshopped haiku. It generated quite a discussion when it first appeared on NaHaiWriMo back in April 2011. Later that year, it was workshopped again at a late night haiku session at the Bend Haiku Weekend. And it received a little streamlining when I submitted it to the anthology for the HNA conference. Interestingly enough, the final version is not so different from the original!

barefoot summer…
a drop of honeysuckle
on my tongue

NaHaiWriMo, April 2011
Standing Still: HNA Conference Anthology, Aug. 2011

Share a haiku about a childhood summer memory, summer in general, honeysuckle, nectar, or the sense of taste. If you missed the initial post, click here to read about the month long haiku challenge I am holding right here on my blog this December.

59 thoughts on “barefoot summer

    • If I would say “triple wow” it might be a boring expression..
      Well, I want to say then I bow before you, Margaret, and before every and each your tanka. (The bowing before a woman is a very old Polish tradition.)

      Now, I am interlacing this particular tanka in my mind….

      What a taste! The poetic taste of your poems!

      • Margaret, your, “she’s a master” is exactly my opinion that I’ve expressed throughout my comment:

        I bow before Margaret, and before every and each her tanka. (The bowing before a woman is a very old Polish tradition.)

        So, my bowing shows the greatest respect for THIS MARVELOUS POETRESS.

        Is there something wrong with my, “What a taste! The poetic taste of your poems!”?

        It also described (I hope I was clear with my words) her incredible poetic talent.

      • Oh, probably my sentence “Now, I am interlacing this particular tanka in my mind…” was not clear (an improper metaphore?).
        What I meant was, I will hold very deap in my memory Pamela’s tanka.

        I used the verb “interlace” = “hold in a locking position”
        = “hold/keep/lock in my memory”.
        🙂

      • I think the confusion, Lech, is that you used Margaret’s name in your comment, but it is Pamela’s tanka you were commenting on.

        Both are masterful at writing tanka! 🙂

Leave a Reply

