With Style

Day 6  of the  Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway .

Today’s question: What’s your style? I’m not even going to clarify what I mean by “style” — just answer the question in any way you like (within the word count). Have fun with it. Write as creatively or straightforwardly as you like.

My response: It took me awhile to find my writing style. When I first starting submitting writings for publication four years ago, I used a scatter shot method for deciding where to submit, and tried too hard to have my style of writing fit in with those publications I targeted. It was an interesting exercise that I learned a lot from, and one of the takeaway messages was that I would rather not be published at all, then publish something that didn’t sound like me. Basically I write in the same style I talk in, and because of this, I think my “voice” comes through clearly. Since that first year, I’ve been very selective about where I submit, and make sure my writing style is a good match for the publication I am submitting to. Not too surprisingly, I’ve had many more prose and poetry writings published since then!

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

2 thoughts on “With Style

  1. “I would rather not be published at all, then publish something that didn’t sound like me.”

    My feeling exactly.

Leave a Reply

