Poet Showcase: Hannah Gosselin

Name: Hannah Gosselin
Location:
Maine, USA

Blog: Metaphors and Smiles

How do you know Cara? Cara and I have crossed paths in the poem-ing magic of Poetic Asides @ The Writer’s Digest blog and more recently we’ve met up in the NaHaiWriMo (National Haiku Writing Month), on a facebook page.

How long have you been writing poetry? I’ve been writing poetry almost perpetually since April 2009 and I dabbled in it as a child writing cards and in high school, too.

What kind of poetry do you write? I enjoy writing of nature and I like to bring in elements of spirituality. 🙂

Please share a poem:

Recently offered @ the PAD challenge:

~SOMETHING INSIDE~

Slow-stolen morning moments,

swindled before the creeping sun,

some early time spent climbing,

scaling the paleness of my skin.

Dredging with a bottom-net

I set about to word gather,

rather I should find creepers;

green verbs mixed amid growth.

Drawing my attention instead

a spider moves along smoothly

lilting, long-legged on length of wall,

stalling, stringing out fine silk

it finds gumption and plunges

easily to vacant, wide-open spaces.

In a free fall, faith binding

riding it out, hoping for a bottom,

trusting that thread won’t wear

or come to an end before its destination.

My heart is hesitant and needy,

hungry for this kind of strength.

When I feel the farthest from myself

from my source that I should be ready,

willing to bungee jump into the abyss

permit the search to go deeper,

descend on His design

looking for the “something inside.”

© Hannah Gosselin and Metaphors and Smiles, 2012.

Thank you, Cara, for this gracious sharing in your poetic life!! Smiles to everyone!

15 thoughts on “Poet Showcase: Hannah Gosselin

  1. “lilting, long-legged on length of wall, stalling, stringing out fine silk….” Love that alliteration.

    And I learned something about you, Hannah. I hadn’t realized that you write haiku as well. How did I miss that?

  2. Hi Sweet Hannah… Lovely to read this poem again.. . You know you’re obviously a “natural” put yourself out there in the sunshine and you just took off growing tall …:)

  3. Haaaaaanaaaaaah! (it’s still a palindrome…I counted the a’s carefully.) 😉
    I loveloveLOVE me some Hannah. I have loved Hannah’s poetic voice since 2009, and have been delighted to watch it just absolutely blossom, especially over this past year. The poem you’ve chosen above, Hannah, is one of my absolute favorites. That first sentence: “Slow-stolen morning moments,

    swindled before the creeping sun,

    some early time spent climbing,

    scaling the paleness of my skin.”

    Aaaaaah. I truly believe we are poetic soul sisters, my friend. Your graceful, generous encouragement has carried me, often, over the past 3 years, and your words just literally praiseshoutflydancesing…like the creation you write of so eloquently. Thank you for sharing your gift.

    • We ARE poetic soul sisters, De!!! You have been such a n amazing inspiration to me and your support goes deeper than you know!!! So very thankful, more than words can say (as generic as that sounds! lol).

  4. Oh, it’s my Sweet Hannah!! I proudly take the credit for coining that name, which has become (I’m quite sure of this) a household name in the worldwide poetic community. 😉 You truly ARE a sweet, loving, beautiful soul … naturally. Nobody does nature poetry like you do, Hannah.

    Thank you for featuring this sweet-sung soul, Cara!

    Marie Elena

    • Mhmmm Marie …. May have to fight you for that credit… Always thought I coined Sweet Hannah…. Meet you at the PA coral at dawn :))))). Well, me thinks it doesn’t matter who…it is true…and dear Marie without research I cede this credit (as you usually keep track of these milestones better than I) …. to you… I’ll trade you for “The Street” that one I’m much more sure about.. Oh excuse me we are here for Hannah!!!

      YAY BRAVO CISS BOOM BAY..MARIE IS CORRECT NO ONE DOES NATURE POETRY LIKE YOU ON ANY GIVEN DAY :). YAY HANNAH!!!!

    • Marie!!! You make my heart sing and shine with the loving kindness that you so readily spread! So much love and blessings to you, my dear friend! And of course the warmest of smiles to you!

  5. Hannah: you speak of nature so intimately and innately seeing that which most of us blows past or at best observe superficially… It would come as no surprise to me if you were lauded the Modern Day Gaia.

    • Thank you, so much Pamela!! I’m so thrilled of all the poetic time and images, everything inspiring that we share together on a daily basis!! So enriched by knowing you and all of our poetic buddies!!

  6. Cara!! I’m so grateful for this! You really are such an amazing creative spirit with a generous heart. I’m so glad to have gotten to know you better. 🙂

    Thank you, everyone for your kind cements, they truly lift my spirits!! Warm smiles!

  7. Hannah – how lovely … a perfect choice for your interview page Cara; nature’s child … your poetry is inspired Hannah – it just glows, almost ethereally; you do seem to have a special affinity with all things natural and it shows in your writing … nicely done. And, if I haven’t mentioned it, I love the name of your blog – clever.

Leave a Reply

